stillflorida.blogg.se

Most reliable external hard drives 2018
Most reliable external hard drives 2018

I'm talking weeks to MONTHS to get a replacement. They also require something called an "SA" number that can only be found on a sticker attached to the device.

#Most reliable external hard drives 2018 serial number

Be prepared to disassemble whatever computer is affected, because providing a model number and serial number are not enough. Firstly, just getting an RMA started with Intel is painful. I've had the misfortune to suffer two failed Intel SSDs. I'm saving a special category of experiences for Intel SSDs - experiences so awful there are in a class by themselves. I wish that expedited (air) shipping was also available. Seagate HDD - Advance RMA is not availableĮven with Advance RMA, I have to wait for ground shipping. Western Digital HDD - Advance RMA is available My most recent experiences can be summarized as follows: (A credit card is provided to cover their loss if the defective drive is never received). With an "Advance RMA", the manufacturer will ship a replacement drive immediately rather than waiting to receive the defective drive. I can live with a degraded RAID array for a few days, perhaps, but not for weeks. When a drive fails, what I'm looking for is to obtain a replacement as soon as possible. What I've discovered recently, however, is that here are huge differences in how manufacturers fulfill their warranties.

most reliable external hard drives 2018

I mostly buy "enterprise" grade drives, and specifically look for models with a 5-year warranty. I have a wide variety of drives at work, both HDD and SSD.

Most reliable external hard drives 2018